Friday, July 29, 2011

SEVEN DEADLY SINS: Changing these vices into virtues.

photo of a dead tree at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon taken on July 8, 2011
 The Seven deadly sins with definitions:
Wrath: selfishness or self-interest, love of justice perverted to revenge and spite, uncontrolled feelings of anger
Greed: excessive or inordinate desire to acquire or possess more than one needs, especially with respect to material wealth, status, and power
Sloth: failure to utilize one's talents and gifts, laziness and indifference
Pride: desire to be more important or attractive than others, failing to acknowledge the good work of others, and excessive love of self,
Lust: excessive love of others, which therefore rendered love and devotion to God as secondary
Envy: resent that another person has something they perceive themselves as lacking, sorrow for another's good
Gluttony: indulgence and over-consumption of anything to the point of waste (excessive desire for food causing withholding from the needy)

We need to change these vices into virtues: 
·         our Wrath into Patience.
·         our Greed into Charity
·         our Slothfulness into Diligence
·         our Pride into Humility
·         our Lust into Chastity
·         our Envy into Kindness
·         our Gluttony into Temperance.

Once we have all these virtues we will be filled with love for others. Love encompasses all the virtues. Once we have all virtues we will be able to taste Zion.
Just an interesting thing I learned. The writer of Gilligan’s island created each character to be an embodiment of one of the seven deadly sins. As you know all of them were castaways on an island needing to make it back home.

·         The Professor represented Pride.
·         Skipper represented Wrath.
·         Gilligan represented Sloth
·         Mary Ann represented Envy
·         Ginger represented Lust
·         Mr. Howell represented Greed
·         Mrs. Howell represented Gluttony.

No comments:

Post a Comment